Play More!

slice-of-life2I am participating in #SOL19. Thanks to the
twowritingteachers blog team for hosting this wonderful event!

 

What did you do as a child that made the hours pass like minutes?  Remember the things you did growing up that you enjoyed – maybe it was coloring, building a fort, swinging on a swing, playing cards or board games, or finding treasures outside. Try doing one of these activities today, even for a few minutes. What did you do? How did it feel?

Recently, I acquired a beautiful coloring book, very detailed, and a set of beautiful colored pencils. I have actually used this book a few times now to relax. It is very freeing, taking me back to the times my mom and I colored together, blending colors and removing the paper on the Crayola crayons so we could roll the crayon to create a different shade.

I also bought a beautiful book called Keeping a Nature Journal: Discover a Whole New Way oKeeping a Nature Journalf Seeing the World Around You by Clare Walker Leslie and Charles E. Roth. It is stunning and offers ways to get started, ideas for journaling through the seasons, and how to teach journaling to groups of all ages. I wish I had owned this book when I was facilitating a writing group for senior citizens as a community benefit provided by my school district. I am sure I will be sharing some of my nature journal entries on Slice before March is over!

Sometimes, I have this tugging urge  to play Monopoly or a game of Clue or Pictionary. Or perhaps a game of Canasta or checkers. Any takers?

9 thoughts on “Play More!

  1. I’m in for any of those games. Did you know board games are referred to as recreational therapy – it’s a piece of mental wellness and work being done in hospitals. I’d love to know more about your senior writing group – and this nature journal guide looks very interesting.

    Like

  2. Clue was my favorite! I think I still have the game here, but I might have left it in the house we sold in the mountains. I’ll play anytime. We never outgrow our playful side, do we?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OK, Lynn. I guess the games we played were a bit different. We liked playing “flashlight tag” at night. This is not something I would attempt to play today. As far as board games – it was Chutes and Ladders and Uncle Wiggly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynne, thanks for reminding me that I have an “adult” coloring book and colored pencils that are not getting much use these days. I think I should drag them out and try relaxing. I remember playing “school” and jacks. I will never forget the year I got Mousetrap!

    Like

  5. I loved coloring with my mom, too. Born in the depression years, she and her friends created their own coloring fun on plain paper, tracing circles and making designs in them to color. My best friend and I carried on the idea, and we would have elaborate contests to pick the best designs.

    Like

Leave a comment