Finding Your Best Self

slice-of-life2I am participating in #SOL19. Thanks to twowritingteachers blog team for sponsoring this wonderful event!

There is not enough darkness in all the world to put out the light of even one small candle. ~ Robert Alden

Having  hard time focusing on the positive takes some practice. Try concentrating on one good thing.  Sometimes, I place a picture in my mind of three Welsh Corgis eagerly awaiting my return each day. I can always count on three smiling faces and lots of enthusiasm. I know I am loved. Lots of cuddles on the couch before I can do anything else, and even though there is no tail wagging (Pembroke Welsh Corgis do not have tails), I know how happy they are to have me back at home, family complete.

If you are feeling anxious or vulnerable, share your feelings with someone you can trust. When we share, it eases the burden and alost immediately, we start to feel better.  We can feel the compassion and sense the empathy that is offered in return. People want to help. There is no better exercise for the heart than lifting people’s spirits when they come to you for relief. Find that friend or family member you can share your worries with when you need that boost!

The next time you are feeling a little negative or down and out, boost your positivity by thinking about one good thing. Concentrate. Picture it in your mind. And if you are home or able to do this, maybe light a candle as a reminder of it.

Here are my positivity boosters:

Arthur and Mommy

9 thoughts on “Finding Your Best Self

  1. Wise advice. I totally agree with you that people want to help. I have never tried focusing on one positive thing. I mostly worry about my kids being safe – driving, one away at college etc. I will have think of a positive thing that reminds of them being just fine. Thank you for the boost this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your corgis do show enthusiasm ALL THE TIME, that’s for sure.
    Good advice, Lynne. It’s important to accentuate the positive. I’ll try to remember that today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was my favorite line: There is no better exercise for the heart than lifting people’s spirits when they come to you for relief. I think that the inverse is also true–that it exercises the heart to trust others to help you carry your burdens. We lift and are lifted when we open ourselves. This was a great reminder that I needed today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment