I Like the Springtime

(With a nod to “The Mist and All”

a poem by Dixie Wilson that was my mentor text for writing my poem.)

I chose to revise a poem I wrote in 2017 to honor my favorite season and the coming of Poetry Month.)

#SOL23 Day 30 Thanks to twowritingteachers for the opportunity to write, share, learn, and grow.

I like the springtime,

The sunshine and all.

I like the warmth

On my face,

Melting like butter

On warm breakfast toast.

I like the rainy

sweet April day,

And the small-and-big puddles

That beckons me to

Be a kid again and SPLASH!

I like the rain.

I like the stormy skies,

Gray and black and menacing,

That rolls in quickly,

Threatening throaty rumbles of thunder

And jagged lightning streaks.

I like the stormy skies.

I like the flowers,

Bursting from gardens

Like precious treasure.

Yellows, pinks, purples, blues

That makes me want

To run inside for my camera.

I like the flowers!

I like a host of golden daffodils,

The first real splash of color in my yard,

The hibernation wake-up,

The return of bumble bees and butterflies,

Ponds and wetland thawing,

Trees budding and sap flowing.

I like to sit

And dream a bit –

And listen to nature’s winged quartet: 

Nuthatches, cardinals, robins, bluejays.

I like the springtime –

The sunshine and all.

7 thoughts on “I Like the Springtime

    • Thanks, Bob. It is hard to believe Slice is over tomorrow! I always look for your slice and am so glad you have visited every day. Spring is my favorite season. The right weather for me and so much beauty right outside our windows!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Such an exquisite poem and pictures to accompany it, Lynne. Some of your phrasings really caught my attention like “Threatening throaty rumbles of thunder” and “listen to nature’s winged quartet.” I may just use your poem as my mentor poem today. I’m sad that March is coming to an end. I’ve really enjoyed your slices and the commitment to writing every day has been good for me. Now, I must make sure I slice on Tuesdays. Enjoy all the gifts of Spring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you ever get a chance to visit Philadelphia, be sure to visit Longwood Gardens. People come from all over the world to see it. You can have lunch or dinner there and spend three to four hours easily just walking the grounds. Look it up. Tulips in mid-April are magnificent!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn, It is good to read your final day of the TWT challenge. I tried to spread my readings around to forever friends and new slicers. Your spring poem is just what I needed today as I try to finish my own slice. May your NPM be filled with poetrylicious poetry and photos like you shared today.

    Like

Leave a comment