A Summer Counting Poem

slice-of-life2I am participating in #SOL19. Thanks to the twowritingteachers blog team for sponsoring this event.

Writing inspired by the mentor text I Know It’s Autumn!  by Eileen Spinnelli.

I Know It's Autumn

A Summer Counting Song

I knew it was summer because I saw one bee buzzing around a rose.

I knew it was summer because I saw two small kids running through
the lawn  sprinkler and yelling!

I knew it was summer because I saw three bathing suits hanging on
the line to dry.

I knew it was summer because I tasted four ripe strawberries from a stand on
the way to the seashore.

I knew it was summer because I smelled five hamburgers sizzling on the  grill.

I knew it was summer because I saw six places set at the picnic table on the patio.

I knew it was summer because I felt the raised bumps from seven mosquito  bites on my
legs.

I knew it was summer because I heard eight birds chirping in the apple tree.

I knew it was summer because I tasted nine small samples of yummy fudge including
peanut butter, maple walnut, chocolate chip, mint, eggnog, cookies and cream,
vanilla, chocolate, mocha, and strawberry.

I knew it was summer because I saw ten tiny, white butterflies around my butterfly
bushes  in our backyard.

I knew it was summer because I watched the sun sinking into the bay on LBI surrounded
by the summer eleven: Mary, Paul, Tom, Linda, Gwen, Leigh, Memphis, Rhonda,
and Merrill (our Corgis), my husband Ralph, and me.

I knew it was summer because I made fourteen deviled eggs for the Fourth of July picnic
but ate two of them before the start of the picnic (so we had twelve to share).

 

8 thoughts on “A Summer Counting Poem

  1. Love this format, Lynne! I will be using this with my writers in April for sure! Our reading series just finished talking about weather and seasons. I may just start Poetry Month with this format! Thank you! I long for summer!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a fun poem… except for the “raised bumps from seven mosquito bites” … Definitely going into my writing folder along with “I Know It’s Autumn” as a mentor text. I love Eileen Spinelli’s “Sophie’s Masterpiece.” Are you familiar with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment