Little Things

On any given day, there are little things that go unnoticed. Maybe not earth shattering, earth shaking things, but little things that make each day memorable, unique, satisfying. I have been trying to slow down, live the life of a writer, be an observer, insert more quiet time into each day.

Here are some of my noticings:

Buds have appeared on the dogwood tree that my husband and I thought had perished in the fall. Wow! She is going to bloom again. Amazing!

If I really listen, I can hear sounds of birds tweeting and chirping and singing throughout the day – not just early morning and dusk.

My husband has become so attached to our Corgi Arthur. I catch him petting Arthur and leaning down to kiss the top of Artie’s head every so often. It is so precious!

I smell the backyard greening. Yes, there is a green smell if you sit still and close your eyes. You can almost hear things starting to grow.

Even on busy days rushing down hallways, teachers at the middle school smile, wave, and nod at students and other teachers.

When I am reading, I am in a zone where only the words matter and I travel at the speed of light through hours in what seems only minutes.

I stop to think about my goddaughters every day and imagine what they are doing, and yes – I actually smile each time.

A prayer uttered for a friend in need of a blessing or a friend who is gone from this world. A prayer for past and present friends and family members. Yes, a little moment of every day to whisper my thanks and my love.

Little moments.

Little things.

I am participating in #SliceofLife20. Thanks to twowritingteachers for providing this space for writers to grow and share.

slice-of-life2