Writing and Me

In writing classrooms everywhere, teachers of writing need to be teachers who write. The first step to being that kind of teacher involves some self-reflection. How do I feel about teaching writing?  How would I describe myself as a writer? Take a sentence stem from the survey below and use it to write a notebook entry. Respond to one question each day until you are finished. If you can find a colleague to do the same, you can talk about your responses over lunch or when you can best fit in a conversation. It is very freeing to talk about attitudes, beliefs, and values with a trusted other. Sometimes, we can lose our anxieties and fears just by writing about them and talking about them.  

Please respond to these questions:

  1. As a writer I am…
  2. Three words that describe how I feel about teaching writing are…
  3. Three words that describe how I think my students feel about writing are…
  4. A classroom “writing experience” should involve:
  1. I spend approximately ___________ (minutes, hours) each week teaching writing. The part I struggle with/enjoy the most is….

 

  1. The part of writing I’m best at teaching is…
  2. One goal I have for writing in my classroom this year is…

When you are ready, here are a few more questions to ponder:

  • How about rigor in your writing classroom? Where is there evidence of rigor?
  • What does deeper learning look like in your writing classroom?
  • If you had to name the most important skills and strategies students need to be able to grow as writers, what would they be? Why?
  • What has been your approach to teaching writing in the past?  What works? What would you like to change?

Reflection on literacy practices is an important aspect of our profession. Thinking about our beliefs, values, and daily routines help us grow and make sense of what we do and how we do it. When we share our thinking with others, we can build the support network we need to question our practices and revise what isn’t working. It’s also a way to receive validation and praise for all the good work we are doing. Growing a network of writing teachers can involve going beyond our school setting. The Slice of Life network is a great writing community with expertise from K-university level. Grow your network this month and keep in touch all year round!

I am participating in #SliceofLife2020. Thanks to twowritingteachers for creating this space for writers to meet.