A Good Suggestion

Thanks to twowritingteachers for providing this space to write, share, learn, and grow.

The other day, Stacey asked me what we had planned for our tenth anniversary. We had not talked about it. “Hey, Ralph? What about a trip to Newport for our anniversary in June?” Ralph needed no encouragement. We both started looking online. I was excited!

After about an hour, we booked two overnights in the Victorian room of The Cliffside Inn. It’s a wonderful bed and breakfast with a unique history. We added a harbor tour and a visit to Touro Synagogue, the oldest in the country. We’re considering booking a ghost tour, and we are visiting the Marble House and the topiary. We are hoping for good weather so we can do the cliff walk.

Ralph and I visited Newport with my sister and brother-in-law several years ago. We saw the Breakers and Rosecliff. We took a champagne tour of Oliver Belmont’s home, Belcourt Castle at night. The 52-room house was based on Louis XIII’s hunting lodge at Versailles.

Stacey sent me links to the Read Parrot Restaurant and Castle Hill Inn. She also gave us one in Narragansett and three in Providence. I know there’s a wonderful bakery in Jamestown that may be worth a visit before we come home.

Finally, I asked our neighbor Kate to babysit the three Corgis. They adore her and will be safe and happy. Thank goodness she said yes, since I should have arranged things with her first before we booked everything.

Now all I have to do is schedule time to walk twice a day to prepare for our trip. It will take us about five-plus hours to drive it.

Thanks, Stacey. A wonderful idea – I needed a little push. Newport, Rhode Island, here we come!

12 thoughts on “A Good Suggestion

  1. Lynne, sounds like you and Ralph have a wonderful anniversary trip planned. I have only ever been on one ghost tour in San Antonio. Although we didn’t see or hear any ghosts, it was interesting learning about the haunts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy for you and Ralph. This sounds like a lovely, romantic get-a-way and the perfect plan to celebrate your 10th Anniversary. It’s always nice when you get a vacation arranged.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment