Furniture Removal and a Redo

Thanks to twowritingteachers for providing this space to write, share, learn, and grow!

I have suffered with the couch and loveseat in our den for several years. Some of our friends love it. But for a short person, touching the floor with my feet is impossible unless I am sitting forward with no back support. It reminds me of how I felt riding the S bus to Broad and Olney to attend Philadelphia High School for Girls in high school. The dogs love the furniture, especially the loveseat positioned under the large bay window. Rosie and Arthur love to climb up on the back and balance there to look for squirrels and chipmunks and an occasional fox, deer, or rabbit. We have many bird feeders, so there’s always something to keep them entertained.

Today Junkluggers arrived promptly at nine – which is good because they were scheduled to arrive between eight and ten. They were experts, calling us when they were about 20 minutes away. They arrived, gave a quick and fair assessment of the cost, and went to work. About 20 minutes later – maybe less – the furniture was removed and on their truck. What a relief! I will be sure to call them again if I need anything else removed. Thanks, Charles and Drew!

Then Ralph and I went to work, mopping the floors and vacuuming, moving the small blue loveseat under the bay window, moving the loveseat from the living room to replace the large couch, bringing in a small chair that actually rocks, too, and fits me perfectly (both my feet on the floor), and placing the table against the far wall to house my laptop and workload. All good for now. Both rooms look better and less crowded. Did we get rid of enough furniture? Not sure. Maybe. We’ll tackle the magazines next weekend.

Anyway, we dusted, cleaned a glass tabletop, emptied flower vases that needed to be emptied into the green recycle can, and washed all the pillowcases. Enough for today! Here is a picture of Artie on our old loveseat. He thinks he is part cat!

12 thoughts on “Furniture Removal and a Redo

  1. Lynne, it is a great feeling when we get rid of something we were not particularly fond of and replace it with something that works for us. You got rid of something you didn’t like and moved in something that works for you. You now basically have two new rooms. Enjoy! Love the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For me, redecorating is very exciting. Creating a comfortable, practical environment makes me happy and it sounds like that’s just what you’ve done. Now you and Ralph, can sit back and enjoy your “new room.” A few weeks ago, we replaced our bedroom set of almost 52 years with a new one. It was hard to decide to get rid of it, but I’m glad we did. I love the new set and the spacious, modern feeling it creates. Hope Rosie and Arthur like enjoy the change, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds like you’re well pleased with your nesting! My husband and I have been making a deliberate effort to remove some clutter, including furniture, from our home, and have definitely enjoyed the results. Enjoy your new space!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment