Games People Play

I am participating in #SOL22. This is Day 19. Thanks for providing this space to write, share, and grow.

When I was growing up in the ’60s, I spent a good deal of time outside after school and on weekends. Outdoor activities included twirling hula hoops, catching butterflies with nets and letting them go (Of course!), bouncing on pogo sticks, and riding bikes. We played marbles on the sidewalk. I had a cookie jar full of different sizes and colors. Bobby and Lois Brucker had the best collection. Sometimes, we traded.

My favorite thing to do was to walk on stilts. Some friends had metal ones, but I preferred my wooden stilts. It was all the rage! I practiced almost every day. I could walk up and down the four steps leading to the stoop, hop on one stilt, and even balance on one stilt to twirl around! The height was adjustable, too. Sometimes, I balanced two feet from the ground.

When I wasn’t on stilts, I was roller skating. The only problem – I never learned how to stop. One day I took off on my skates to roll down East Mt. Airy Street, a freshly macadamed road. The only thing is – I gathered so much speed that I shot across the road that ran perpendicular to it. I tried to grab the looming telephone pole in my path and fell hard. That was probably when I broke my wrist, although I hid my injury from Mom until the next day when I fell a second time playing “Thread the Needle” in my elementary school’s playground.

Indoor activities were fun, too. My family loved to play board games. We were in love with Chutes and Ladders, Clue, Twister, Candyland, Mouse Trap, and Uncle Wiggly. I loved playing Pickup Sticks with my sisters. And wasn’t everyone interested in the strange and mysterious Ouija Board? Indoors at my grandparents’ home was a time to play cards or Parcheesi and Monopoly.

My sisters played with paper dolls and dressed them in paper clothes. Sandy had a Barbie and Ken and their “dream house” and even a car. The only doll I treasured was my Raggedy Ann doll. I did love my model horses and set up jumping courses for them. I even made paper ribbons in blue, red, yellow, white, pink, and green for the “horse shows.” I still have a few horses, some very old stuffed animals (including Flower, a skunk I received when I was five), and my Raggedy Ann.

I cannot part with them. They connect me with my childhood. They make me smile. They are part of the magic I cannot let go.

9 thoughts on “Games People Play

  1. I grew up in the 70s and 80s and these are games I played also-in Cinnaminson, NJ (suburb of Philly). Your description is so vivid-I love how you included the neighborhood kids. It made me remember the neighborhood kids (Linda and Rhonda Kesslinger) I grew up with that always seemed to have better toys than me. They were the first family to get Pong. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could identify with so many of the things you mentioned, but not stilts or roller skating. However, we spent many hours playing jacks. We also had an Uncle Wiggly game. I’ve kept just a few of my childhood dolls: my Tammy doll (my older sister made all her clothes) and my Holly Hobbie doll. “Part of the magic” is a wonderful phrase to describe the things we’ve kept.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a great piece to show students how objects can inspire stories. When you see them or touch them, they transport you to a time when. I love this line: I cannot part with them. They connect me with my childhood. They make me smile. They are part of the magic I cannot let go. I hope you never let the magic go – it is what lights up your face when you smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great reminiscences! I have a lot of similar memories from growing up in the 70s. I had a similar roller skating accident too, though in my case, my little sister pushed me at the top of a steep hill, and I went careening down at full speed, futilely grabbing scratchy bushes and attempting and failing to nab a phone pole. When I hit the bottom of the block, I soared right off the curb and faceplanted in the middle of the road. I took off my roller skates and limped the two blocks home, crying and bleeding, only to be yelled at by my mom for leaving my nefarious little sister three blocks away!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful Lynne,
    We played Fink Town, when I was a kid growing up in Yardley. My dad set up a big table on horses, and we built an entire town in our basement from the construction blocks of wood we scavenged from the new neighborhood being built behind our house. Remember those Rat Finks you got in gum ball machines, well they were the town’s people (finks). Everyone had a couple, I was George and Hilda, and each owned a business. I had a dress shop, my brother had a gas station, Nancy my neighbor a grocery store and neighbor Lisa’s doctor office. We had a road and fake cars going around the table. I made furniture out of cardboard and clothes for the Rat Finks out of fabric samples. What fun we had for hours and hours in Fink Town! We could play down in the basement rain or shine. I still have some remnants of the finks and accessories…. Kids really have all the fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment