First Signs

Thanks to twowritingteachers team for providing this space for a community of writers to share and grow.

These brave blooms

in pinks, yellows, purples, blues

standing out

against the bleak late-winter landscape.

Their strong perfumes

luring bees out of their hives in March,

providing the pollinators

with an early-spring food source.

Creating winter garden color,

spreading and come back year after year,

and as a bonus,

rarely bothered by rabbits and deer.

Flower Record’s single pale violet flowers,

Pickwick’s striped blooms alternating pale and dark lilac,

Tricolor, flowers with bands of lilac, white, and golden yellow,

Purpureus Grandiflorus, violet flowers with purple bases.

Crocuses, first signs of spring in my garden.

10 thoughts on “First Signs

  1. The spring in your garden shows itself bolder and stronger than the spring under my living room window. Here the tiny white snowdrops peek out form the ground. Your poem gives me hope that soon the crocuses will bloom here too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This line from the middle of your poem, “Creating winter garden color”, could be your title as you created the colors of the winter garden turning to spring with your words.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynne, you’ve got me longing for Spring. I am ready for our daffodils to bloom even though it is too early. I am ready for the scent of lilacs blooming. Your poem fills us with antiipation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Lynn. Glad to see you are back for the challenge. Your description of your garden is lovely and calls forth hope in my heart. It’s an adventure to watch spring begin it’s slow return.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the description of all your different crocuses and the use of their names. It sounds like you have a beautiful collection. I’ll have to keep an eye out for yellow ones. I’ve never had any of those in my garden, and I have not spotted any in the neighborhood yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment