I Like the Springtime

I Like the Springtime

(With a nod to “The Mist and All”
a poem by Dixie Wilson that was my mentor text for writing my poem)

I like the springtime,

The sunshine and all.

I like the warmth

On my face –

And new growth bursting from gardens

Like precious treasure.

I like the rainy

sweet April day,

And the small-and-big puddles

That beckon me to

Be a kid again and SPLASH!

I like the rain.

I like to sit

And dream a bit –

And listen to nature’s winged quartet:

Chickadees, cardinals, robins, mourning doves.

I like the springtime –

The sunshine and all.

 

I am participating #SOL17.

Thanks to the twowritingteachers blog team for creating and sustaining this writing community.

slice-of-life2

12 thoughts on “I Like the Springtime

  1. You’ve brought spring to me with this poem. It’s the precious treasure I am waiting for but meanwhile I will enjoy the quartet.
    Lynne, you might check your link on TWT, it does not open up this page.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for letting me know, Elsie. My husband posted my piece for me – long story. I was traveling last night to Shippensburg with Diane where we presented today. My computer’s hard drive had crashed. So my computer is at Staples with the Geek Squad! My husband was trying to post from his computer. I am not sure what he did, but I am glad you were able to find the poem.

      Like

Leave a comment