Song of Sunshine

Let sweet sunshine sing to you.

Let it pour like honey’s golden, liquid drops.

Let the sunshine gently kiss your browning cheeks.

Sunshine makes the water on the lakes shimmer.

Sunshine makes patterns and shadows in the forest.

Sunshine rubs happiness over your back.

Sunshine promises healing and cheerfulness.

And I love sunshine.

With a nod to my mentor text, “April Rain Song” by Langston Hughes in Sing a Song of Popcorn: Every Child’s Book of Poems

I a participating in #SOL17. Thanks to the twowritingteachers
blog team for creating and sustaining this community of writers.

slice-of-life2

3 thoughts on “Song of Sunshine

  1. I love Hughes’ poem, and I love yours. My favorite line is “Sunshine rubs happiness oer your back.” In April, my students try on a new mentor text poem each day. This is one that I use with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Embrace| AliceNine.net

  3. I love the feel of the sunshine too. The warmth of the sun on my skin makes me smile. What a great poem you have written as the sun shares its presence on these longer days. Thank you for modeling this poem and including the mentor text. You always generate ideas for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

