I Know It’s Spring

I know it’s spring when I cannot wait to get outside,

When the red-winged blackbirds return to my feeders,

When forsythia yellow like the sun

And hyacinths fill the garden with purple and pink.

I know it’s spring when the birds empty the feeders in one day.

Soon there will be nests and baby birds everywhere.

The earth washes cleaner, bathed in sweet sunshine and sweet April rain.

I stand straighter, walk with a spring in my step and song in my heart.

I know it’s spring when I can almost smell the salty ocean,

When the longer days whisper of summer,

When trees and lawns and bushes remember their colors,

I know it’s spring.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Know It’s Spring

  1. Lynne, I love your images. As much as I love all these wonderful things, I would have to add… I know it’s spring when my eyes begin itching and I develop a random cough! ๐ŸŒป๐ŸŒผ๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒท๐ŸŒน๐ŸŒบ

    Like

Leave a Reply

