The Mosquito

I am Mosquito,

The vampire of summer skies.

In Spanish, my name means

Little fly.

I search

I land

I sight

Then BITE!

I munch on dogs

On boys and cats.

I drink their blood

And grow quite fat.

My antennae search for smells of hosts,

Humans, I prefer the most.

I am true vampire of the skies:

A little insect is my disguise!

 

With a nod to “The Dragonfly” in Insectlopedia by Douglas Florian for providing me with a mentor text for my poem.

I am participating in #SOL17. Thanks to the twowritingteachers
blog team for creating and sustaining this community of writers.

slice-of-life2

25 thoughts on “The Mosquito

  1. I love this –I have been using his poetry a lot lately –oldies, but goodies. I love that they are fun and informational — also great topics. I plan to use your poem to show kids how you used his poem as a mentor text –thank you! And I agree with Aileen –you are sweet!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

