Waiting for Spring

Yesterday I walked around the backyard with my Corgis. They were looking for squirrels and chipmunks and barking at the birds. They did not seem to notice the cold, but I did. An icy breeze was blowing. It seemed like Old Man Winter was complaining about having to leave. “Just go!”  I shouted into the wind.

But there were signs of spring everywhere: buds on the forsythia, crocuses flowering, daffodils surviving the snow, the beginnings of day lilies and hasta.

My neighbor Kate appeared with Rocky the pug this morning. Rocky is the girls’ best friend. The Corgis just adore him! Kate was bundled up in a wool sweater and a heavy winter coat. “The meteorologists are predicting a hot spring and summer,” she said. Just great, I thought. That’s how it goes. In another month or two, I’ll be wishing for March’s cool breezes!

2 thoughts on “Waiting for Spring

Leave a Reply

