Red Maple

Fast-growing deciduous tree,

Cold-hardy, tolerant of many soils.

Red, its defining feature.

Early to color in fall,

Cloaking itself in vibrant shades.

Red, its defining feature.

A rounded oval crown,

Bringing elegant symmetry to your yard.

A carefree and lovely giant,

Bringing beauty to Pennsylvania backyards.

Lady-in-Red,

A real beauty.

I am participating in #SOL17. Thanks to the twowritingteachers blog team and the writers who participate in March Slice-of-Life for creating this wonderful community for sharing and responding to writing.

slice-of-life2

16 thoughts on “Red Maple

    • Rose and her husband had three red maples planted in their backyard. I got to enjoy their beauty through the seasons as Rose and I planned presentations and wrote books while sitting in their sun room. This spring I plan to plant one in my own backyard.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I hate to lose a tree. We had a beautiful purple plum that was weakened by two bad winters and had to be taken down. Then I lost a lovely dogwood to an invading insect – no one could save the tree. I cried for both of them!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fall is my favorite season. It’s funny, because Ralph hates the fall – he says because winter is coming. I do enjoy all the seasons, but Autumn is Mother Nature’s best dressed gal! Do you know Eve Bunting’s picture book, Peepers? It is a wonderful story. LMK if you do not have it, and I will send it to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

