When I Was Young at Lake Wallenpaupack

slice-of-life2By Lynne R. Dorfman

When I Was Young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

I loved to walk through the cool, dark forest

and feel the pine needles cushion the ground

so I could be as silent as an owl’s wings in flight.

 

When I was young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

fires crackled and hissed in the enormous stone fireplace

while Grandma and I huddled under warm blankets,

sipping sweet cocoa with tiny marshmallows floating on top.

 

When I was young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

the lake glistened with sparkling sunlight

and boulders rose up out of the rocky shore,

making great diving platforms for Grandpa and me.

 

When I was young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

my swing and slide set nestled below the huge screened-in porch

and I could fly up and down for hours

while watching sailboats and motorboats gliding on the lake.

 

While I was young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

Autumn was a bittersweet time, painting leaves red-brown

and turning sunsets into a pumpkin-pink display

before invisible hands hung the stars and moon against a velvet sky.

 

When I was young at Lake Wallenpaupack,

I didn’t think about time passing too quickly

or not having enough time to make more memories

or losing this place and my grandparents to a distant past.

 

10 thoughts on “When I Was Young at Lake Wallenpaupack

  1. Lynne, this is beautiful! So many special memories. You have painted pictures with your words that take me back to some similar memories. I like the repetive “When I was young…” it drew me in and captured me to the end. Happy slicing!

    Like

  2. I love this. I also spent time on Lake Wallenpaupack with my aunt and uncle on their boat. I grew up not far from there, at Chapman’s Lake in Lackawanna Co. and have many memories of that place that this lovely poem brings back to me.

    Like

  3. This is so reflective and it evokes so many feelings – of your own and of my own as well. Most importantly, I have the opportunity at this time in my life to be that grandmother growing memories in my sweet granddaughter’s mind and heart. Thank you for this inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

