Summer Counting Song: And On and On!

I knew it was summer because I saw one bee buzzing around a rose.

I knew it was summer because I saw two small kids running through the lawn sprinkler and yelling!

I knew it was summer because I saw three bathing suits hanging on the line to dry.

I knew it was summer because I tasted four ripe strawberries from a stand on the way to the seashore.

I knew it was summer because I smelled five hamburgers sizzling on the grill.

I knew it was summer because I saw six places set at the picnic table on the patio.

I knew it was summer because I felt the raised bumps from seven mosquito  bites on my legs.

I knew it was summer because I heard eight birds chirping in the apple tree.

I knew it was summer because I tasted nine small samples of yummy fudge including peanut butter, maple walnut, chocolate chip, mint, eggnog, cookies and cream, vanilla, chocolate, mocha, and strawberry.

I knew it was summer because I saw ten tiny, white butterflies around my butterfly bushes  in our backyard.

I knew it was summer because I counted  eleven cars parked on our block in Ship Bottom , occupying both sides of the street on a Saturday by late morning

I knew it was summer because I made twelve deviled eggs for Fourth of July picnic.

I knew it was summer because I watched the sun sinking into the bay on LBI  surrounded by the summer thirteen: Mary, Paul, Tom, Linda, Gwen, Leigh,  Kate, Rocky (our dogs’ best friend), Memphis, Rhonda, and Merrill (our Corgis), my husband Ralph  and me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

