Reflections on Lake Tahoe

I cannot describe the exact moment when the image of Lake Tahoe in its entire splendor registered in my brain. It was such unbridled beauty that I could not drink it all in at once. I felt powerless to take my eyes away from the glorious blue waters to the surrounding mountains.

Inky blue water, the color of which I had never seen before, and the emerald waters of a hidden bay startled me. High in the sparse pines were eagles’ nests and falcons’ nests. The paddle boat’s rhythm was slow and easy; my heartbeat, much quicker. Night time here would not be welcomed. The hunger for the vast blueness of the pristine lake framed by majestic mountains created an insatiable appetite for a rugged, yet tranquil beauty I had not known before.

 

Leave a Reply

