Presents

I gave my mom a house,

But all she really wanted was some time with me.

I gave my dad a present – a tie and sweater coat,

But all he wanted was a card with a note from me.

I gave my sister a pearl necklace,

But all she wanted was my promise to be her maid of honor.

I gave my friend a beautiful scarf and journal to write in,

But all she wanted was time to visit more often.

I gave my students good books to read,

But they consumed them and wanted more.

I gave my husband my vow to take a long walk each day,

And he smiled and said he would walk with me, too.

I gave my writer’s notebook a promise to write every day,

And I started this blog to keep my promise.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Presents

  1. Lynne – another good one because you use a simple technique to convey personal emotions.There are no useless and meaningless ornaments . Have you thought about pushing even further? Frank

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

