Resolutions

I have stopped vowing to do something on New Year’s Day because I just don’t keep the momentum going.  I ask myself, “What is preventing me from…?” and “What can I do to….?”  Questions like these are important. I am thinking about a list of words that would make the biggest difference in my personal and professional life:

  • Exercise
  • Eat (well)
  • Delegate
  • Relax
  • Balance
  • Refuse
  • Breathe
  • Limit

     Maybe I don’t limit myself – I always say “yes” to everything. Is it because I am afraid I am going to miss out on something?  Clearly, I need to limit what I do so that I can take care of some largely neglected areas in my life – like my weight and the chance to relax, have some down time, and just breathe!  My choice of the word “limit” has a direct impact on all the other words I chose as well.

I suppose I have to come to terms with the idea of limiting my workload so I can have time to grow and expand in other ways.  It will give me more opportunities to write, read, travel, plant flowers, enjoys friends and family (especially my goddaughters!).  Long walks, time at the beach –  this balance will make me more efficient in the long run.  Maybe the word really isn’t “limit” – it’s “balance.”  I think I like the sound of that much better!

2 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Lynne, you might have a serious case of FOMO — fear of missing out! A support group might help — we can talk about that at Continuity…

    Like

    • I think I do, Janice! Great that we can use part of Continuity at PA Writing Project on Saturday to talk about it. Looking forward to seeing you, Kim, and the whole gang! Love FOMO – fear of missing out! Yes, I have a bad case, indeed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

